He will run again.

I can’t express to you how hard it is to kiss your healthy baby and send him off for more painful procedures, knowing we are coming to the end of a healthy boy for a very long time. A whole year.

Mason is vibrant, strong, and healthy in every way. You don’t for one second look at this boy and think weak, frail, or sickly. He is energetic and all boy. Before crutches, he spent most available daylight hours outside running and laughing, waving light sabers around or playing kickball, baseball, basketball, or football. He mostly loved playing with his dad. And he could manipulate that man like no other into putting down his school work to play. But, every now and then he would even convince me to join him in a light saber fight. I’m not gonna lie. Those retractable light sabers that fling out with the flick of a wrist are super fun. But what I really enjoy the most is the look that Mason gives me as we “fight.” It was a mixture of delight and amazement. He was always amazed that mom could actually block his jabs. And we always ended sweaty and laughing hysterically. I took all of these moments for granted. I can not wait until the day I can watch him run again. I even miss seeing him pout as his sister beats him when they race. I even miss watching him try to cheat so that somehow, some way she will not be faster for once. This picture was taken the last day he was able to run – the day before his first biopsy. It’s only been 2 months and yet it feels like 2 years. We’ve been through so much since that warm December day.

image
Please pray. We are taking up residency in KU Hospital for the next 2 days. We are going to experience life on the pediatric floor for the first of many times in the coming year. Pray for good people and amazing care. Pray for little pain and not losing sight of our goal – a healthy, happy Mason. Pray that each time he wakes from another anesthesia or makes it through another treatment he will still be the same happy, funny boy we laugh with everyday.

2 thoughts on “He will run again.

  1. Laying many tears and prayers at the feet of Jesus for Mason and your family…for this year-long journey to recovery and a healthy, happy boy.

    “Give ear to my words, O Lord; consider my groaning. Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you do I pray. O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and WATCH [wait expectantly].

    But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you. For you bless the righteous, O Lord; you cover him with favor as with a shield.”
    ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭5:1-3, 11-12‬ ‭ESV‬‬
    http://bible.com/59/psa.5.1-3,11-12.esv

    Like

Leave a Reply

